Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Game Summaries & Headlines.


9 months ago

Russell, Morlok honored as most valuable athletes for 2017-18 Columbus North swimming

               Junior Sam Russell and sophomore Olivia Morlok each collected most valuable athlete honors at the Columbus North swimming team banquet on Thursday evening (March 8).

               Russell was honored for the second consecutive season for boys’ team, while Morlok was cited for the girls’ team in the gathering for the 2017-18 squad that was held in the Columbus North large-group instruction room.

                Russell placed 24th in the 200-yard individual medley at the IHSAA State Finals last month in a time of 1 minute, 55.62 seconds. He also helped the 200 free relay to a 15th-place state-meet finish in 1:27.92 and the 400 free relay to a 17th-place state-meet finish in 3:12.43.

                Russell teamed with sophomore Evan Patterson, junior Jared Carroll and senior Thomas Goble on the 200 free relay. Russell combined with Patterson, sophomore Nick Green and Carroll on the 400 free relay.

                Morlok was 10th in the 500 free in the girls’ state meet in 5:01.33. She also helped the 400 free relay to 24th place at state in 3:41.18 and the 200 free relay to 25th place at state in 1:41.74.

                Sophomore Betsy King, sophomore Erica Samuel and senior Kaitlyn Niebrugge joined Morlok on the 400 free relay. King, Samuel and freshman Riddhi Garg joined Samuel on the 200 free relay.

                Most Improved awards went to freshman Christopher Lee and junior Abbey Landini. Lee was seventh in the 100 free in 50.58 and eighth in the 50 free in 23.37 in the boys sectional. Landini placed sixth in the 500 free in 5:41.11 and eighth in the 200 free in 2:08.49 in the girls’ sectional.

                Goble and sophomore Caroline Swenson were respective boys’ and girls’ Bull Frog Award winners. Goble won the sectional and placed 35th at state in the 50 free in 22.12. Goble also was on the 200 free relay that was 15th at state. Swenson placed fifth in the girls’ sectional in the 100 breaststroke in 1:12.90. She also swam a leg on the girls’ 200 medley relay that was fourth in sectional in 1:55.33.

                Thirty-four  athletes were awarded varsity letters. That total included 16 boys and 18 girls:

                Boys – seniors Grant Fehribach, Thomas Goble, Nico Jones, Michael Lee and Blake Shaffer; juniors Jared Carroll, Paxton Rush and Sam  Russell; sophomores Nick Green, Jared Greene, Ayush Panda and Evan Patterson; and freshmen Kyan Jiles, Christopher Lee, Aidan McAlister and Jack Tregoning.

                Girls – seniors Lauren Mackey and Kaitlyn Niebrugge; juniors Rachel Gutman, Abbey Landini and Hannah Manlief; sophomores Karlie Brown, Betsy King, Olivia Morlok, Erica Samuel and Caroline Swenson; and freshmen Ella Anderson, Naomy Argueta-Ventura, Jocelyn Carroll, Riddhi Garg, Grace Lemley, Vaikhari Nalole, Adeline Rush and Paige Sherlock.

                Others in the program were juniors Chloe Day and Madison Sandlin; sophomores Cynthia Cordova, Delaney Donovan, Kate Falkner, Kalissa Gambrel, Kazrin Gambrel, Jose Gamez-Lamadrid, Mason King, Carlos Torres Martinez, Alexa Navarro, Celeste Ramirez and Luke Swain; and freshmen DeShawn Austin, Jaydann Boston, Maria Cena Zevala, Andrea Contreras, Tristen Cook, Blake Day, Hannah Franklin, Avie Ghatge, Anna Kishnani, Samridhi Lamba, Arturo Lopez, Rohit Malik, Ruth Ann Mayer, Kendra McHenry, Joseph Oraye and Eden Zaborowski.
Advertisement Advertisement