Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Game Summaries & Headlines.


2 months ago

Russell, Morlok cited as most valuable athletes of 2018-19 Columbus North swimming

            Senior Sam Russell and junior Olivia Morlok each collected most valuable athlete honors at the Columbus North swimming team awards program on Wednesday evening (March 6).

            Russell was honored for the third consecutive season for the boys’ team, while Morlok was cited for the second year in a row for the girls’ team in the gathering for the 2018-19 squad that was held in the CN cafeteria.

            Russell placed 14th in the 100-yard breaststroke at the IHSAA State Finals last month in a time of 58.14 and 15th in the 200 individual medley in 1:53.44. He also helped the 200 freestyle relay to an eighth-place finish and the 200 medley relay to a 10th-place finish in the state meet with respective times of 1:26.58 and 1:35.38.

            Russell teamed with sophomore Christopher Lee and seniors Jared Carroll and Rafael Spear on both relays.

            Morlok finished eighth in the 500 free in the girls’ state meet in 5:00.35 and 15th in the 200 free in 1:56.05. She also helped the 200 free relay place 28th at state in 1:42.81.

            Sophomore Riddhi Garg and juniors Betsy King and Erica Samuel joined Morlok on the relay.

            Most Improved Awards went to freshmen Cole Wheeler and Bryleigh Shaffstall. Wheeler placed ninth in the boys’ sectional in 1-meter diving with 287.65 points. Shaffstall finished 11th in the 50 free in 26.89, 11th in the 100 free in 58.57 and helped the 200 medley relay to a fourth place finish in 1:56.40 in the girls’ sectional.

            Sophomore Aidan McAlister and sophomore Adeline Rush were respective boys’ and girls’ Bull Frog Award winners. McAlister placed third in the 500 free in 4:59.90 and ninth in the 200 free in 1:51.80 in the boys’ sectional. Rush placed fifth in the 100 back in 1:01.92, ninth in the 100 butterfly in 1:03.62 and also helped the 200 medley relay to fourth place in the girls’ sectional.

            Russell, Carroll and senior Paxton Rush were recognized as captains of the boys’ team. King, junior Karlie Brown and senior Caroline Swenson were honored as captains of the girls’ team.

            The boys’ team won Conference Indiana and sectional championships, and it also placed 17th in the State Finals with 41 points. The girls’ team was runner-up in conference and sectional , and it placed 27th at state with 13 points.

            Thirty-two athletes were awarded varsity letters. That total included 15 boys and 17 girls:

            Boys – seniors Jared Carroll, Paxton Rush, Sam Russell and Rafael Spear; juniors Nicholas Green and Ayush Panda; sophomores DeShawn Austin, Tristen Cook, Blake Day, Kyan Jiles, Christopher Lee and Aidan McAlister; and freshmen David Fry, Matthew Goble and Cole Wheeler.

            Girls – seniors Abbey Landini, Hannah Manlief and Caroline Swenson; juniors Karlie Brown, Betsy King, Olivia Morlok and Erica Samuel; sophomores Ella Anderson, Naomy Argueta-Ventura, Jocelyn Carroll, Riddhi Garg, Grace Lemley, Vaikhari Nalole, Adeline Rush and Paige Sherlock; and freshmen Paige Maddox and Bryleigh Shaffstall.

            Others in the program were seniors Rachel Gutman and Madison Sandlin; juniors Saad Azeem, Kalissa Gambrel, Jose Gamez-LaMadrid, Alexa Navarro, Kurt Nusterer, Celeste Ramirez, Luke Swain, Carlos Torres Martinez and Sandra Villanueva; sophomores Cynthia Cordova, Hannah Franklin, Awadhoot Ghatge, Anna Kishnari, Samridhi Lamba, Arturo Lopez-Caullieres, Rohit Malik, Ruth Ann Mayer, Kendra McHenry, Joseph Oraye, Jack Tregoning and Eden Zaborowski; and freshmen Umer Azeem, Andrea Contreras, Lawrence DeLano, Carlos Fabien, Gerardo Fabien, Naomi Gambrel, Brooke Meek, Paola Ortega and Claire Swenson.
Advertisement Advertisement