Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Game Summaries & Headlines.


2 weeks ago

Iorio, Keele honored as co-MVPs of 2019 Columbus North boys soccer

                Senior Graham Keele and junior Colvin Iorio were recognized as the most valuable players for the 2019 Columbus North boys soccer team on Tuesday (Nov. 5) at the team’s season-ending awards program.

                Others cited during the program junior Bryce Lynn, junior Jacob Gilliam, sophomore Luke Schneider and sophomore Jesse Williams.

                Lynn, a defender, was the winner of the Bull Dog Award. Gilliam, a forward, collected the Most Improved Award. Schneider, a forward and midfielder, received the David Green “Spirit of the Game” Award. Williams, a midfielder, was recognized as CN’s Top Team Player by the Indiana Soccer Coaches Association, and Keele was honored as ISCA second-team all-District 4.

                Schneider totaled six points on two goals and two assists, while Williams added one assist. Keele, a forward, led the team in scoring with 38 points on 16 goals and six assists. Iorio posted a 1.88 goals against average and three shutouts as a goalkeeper as the Bull Dogs posted a 7-10-1 overall record that included a second-place finish in Conference Indiana at 3-2-0.

                Iorio, Keele and junior Sam Larken also were honored as first-team all-Conference Indiana players. Sophomores Caleb Boyce and Nathan White as well as freshman Anthony Johnson were honorable mention all-conference. Larken, a defender, tallied one assist. Boyce, a midfielder, scored one goal. White, a defender, had one assist. Johnson, a midfielder, netted one goal.

                Iorio, Keele, junior Mauricio Brito, senior Andrew Goble and senior Ben Malone were recognized as Academic All-State selections. Those receiving Academic All-State honors must be a junior or senior and carry a 3.70 or better GPA on a 4.0 scale.

                Varsity letters were awarded to seniors Andrew Goble, Sotaro Kaneda, Graham Keele and Ben Malone; juniors Mauricio Brito, Jacob Gilliam, Jesus Hernandez, Colvin Iorio, Sam Larken, Bryce Lynn, Jared Marquez and Ricardo Navarro; sophomores Caleb Boyce, Will Holliday, Luke Schneider, Nathan White and Jesse Williams; and freshmen Nathan Imlay, Anthony Johnson and Mateo Mendez.

                Recognized as JV players were juniors Jorge Avila, Ben LaVelle and Gustavo Lopez; sophomores Gumaro Guzman, Daniel Kelley, Wyatt Kuehner, Josue Loyo, Alex Mendez, Alan Pacheco and Sam Perez; and freshmen Alejandro Alvarez, Oscar Ballinas, Lukas Iorio, Alejandro Jimenez, Flynn Keele, Trent Liggett, Eduardo Ruiz-Cordova and Michael Wolf.


                PHOTO: Junior goalkeeper Colvin Iorio (neon jersey in back) keeps his eye on the ball as a Floyd Central player looks to attack the goal. Iorio was named a Columbus North co-MVP for 2019 after posting a 1.88 goals-against average.
Advertisement Advertisement