Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!



1 year ago by Pat McKee

Howard-Bass, Huffman voted first-team all-state in basketball by ICGSA; Guy chosen second-team all-state

                Columbus North seniors Maliah Howard-Bass and Ashlyn Huffman were named first-team all-state in girls basketball by the Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association.

                CN classmate Imani Guy was chosen second-team all-state, giving the Bull Dogs three players on the 76-player honor group that was announced Wednesday (March 29) on the ICGSA website.

                Howard-Bass led Columbus North to a 21-8 season that included Conference Indiana, sectional and regional championships. The 5-9 guard averaged a team-high 16.9 points while adding 4.4 rebounds, 2.3 steals and a team-best 3.3 steals. She previously was named an Indiana All-Star, an IBCA Supreme 15 Senior All-State choice and has signed to play at Ball State.

                The 5-5 Huffman contributed 9.0 points, 2.5 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.2 steals despite missing the season’s first five games and playing limited minutes in several other games following a summer knee injury. Huffman previously was chosen IBCA Senior honorable mention All-State and has committed to attend Cedarville University in Ohio.

                Guy, a 6-4 forward, provided 9.5 points, a team-high 6.8 rebounds, 1.7 steals and a team-best 3.3 blocks as a senior. She previously was voted IBCA Senior Large School All-State and has signed to attend the University of Southern Indiana.

                The complete ICGSA all-state teams – 25 players on first team, 25 players on second team and 26 players on third team – are listed below. Players are chosen through the ICGSA's five districts regardless of school size or year in school.


First Team

                Mackenzie Blazek, Whiteland

                Taylor Drury, Eastern (Pekin)

                Courtney Dunlap, Argos

                Kylie Fehrman, Lake Central

                Katlyn Gilbert, Heritage Christian

                Rikki Harris, North Central

                Abi Haynes, Vincennes Lincoln

                Alison Hein, Vincennes Lincoln

                Maliah Howard-Bass, Columbus North

                Ashlyn Huffman, Columbus North

                Nicole Konieczny, South Bend St. Joseph

                Karissa McLaughlin, Homestead

                Rachel McLimore, Zionsville

                Audrey Minix, North White

                Madisen Parker, Homestead

                Keya Patton, Cathedral

                Claire Rauck, Providence

                Aly Reiff, Whitko

                Rachel Stewart, Eastern (Pekin)

                Tori Styers, Culver Academy

                Daly Sullivan, South Bend St. Joseph

                Ajanae Thomas, North Central

                Kyra Whitaker, Greensburg

                Madison Wise, Greenfield-Central

                Jasmine Wright, Merrillville

Second Team

                Alexandria Bobe, Oregon-Davis

                Breanna Boles, Lapel

                Leigha Brown, DeKalb

                Abby Downard, Cardinal Ritter

                Sydney Freeman, Central Noble

                Imani Guy, Columbus North

                Katie Helgason, Greenfield-Central

                Brooke James, Princeton

                Lauren Ladowski, Lake Central

                Madison Layden, Northwestern

                Bre Lloyd, Hamilton Southeastern

                Samantha Mathews, Charlestown

                Brooke McKinley, Northridge

                Makinzi Meurer, North Knox

                Anna Newman, Evansville North

                Sophia Nolan, Marquette Catholic

                Sydney Parrish, Hamilton Southeastern

                Taylor Ramey, North Central

                Lilly Simon, Jac-Cen-Del

                Kyannah Stull, John Glenn

                Cameron Tabor, New Castle

                Sydney Taylor, Crown Point

                Kiarra Thompson, Merrillville

                Kayana Traylor, Martinsville

                Hannah Wolford, Providence

Third Team

                Allison Andrews, Plymouth

                Paige Barrett, Scottsburg

                Kendall Bostic, Northwestern

                Tayra Breitbach, Bishop Chatard

                Sidney Crowe, Whiteland

                Lexi Dellinger, South Adams

                Katie Giller, Beech Grove

                Sam Hammel, Pendleton Heights

                Reeva Hammelman, North Knox

                DeShawna Harper, Heritage Christian

                Trinitee Harris, Elkhart Central

                Maci Heimlich, North White

                Kaitlyn Howe, Rushville

                Grace Hunter, Bellmont

                Emily Kiser, Noblesville

                Lindsy Kline, Penn

                Lexie Knear, South Central (Elizabeth)

                Kamryn McCool, Franklin County

                Emma Nolan, Marquette Catholic

                Hannah Noveroske, Michigan City

                Kami Owens, Austin

                Jaycee Parrett, Wabash

                Alyssa Robben, East Central

                Addy Simpson, Crawford County

                Ajah Stallings, North Central

                Leena Tetzloff, Oregon-Davis


Advertisement Advertisement