Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!



1 year ago by Pat McKee

CN's Redding chosen to IFCA's Top 50 all-state; Burton, Tennyson and Harris selected Class 6A all-state

                Columbus North senior David Redding has been chosen to the Top 50 All-State Team by the Indiana Football Coaches Association. In addition, senior Mitchell Burton, senior Coleman Tennyson and junior J.D. Harris were selected Class 6A first-team all-state.

                Redding, a 6-5, 285-pound offensive tackle, was the top blocker for a Bull Dogs’ squad that set a season school record for points per game (41.2) and was fourth best in season annals for total offense per game (357.5) while posting a 9-2 record. He recently changed his college commitment to Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.

                Burton, a 6-3, 190-pound running back, rushed for 1,698 yards and 22 touchdowns to pace the Bull Dogs’ attack in 2016. The yardage total was fourth in CNHS single-season history and his 25 overall TDs, including two on receptions and one on a return, was a CN single-season record. Burton’s career rushing total of 3,992 is the second best in school annals, behind only 4,233 by Alex Turner in 2005-07. Burton’s 55 career touchdowns are a school record. Burton also has committed to Miami University.

                Tennyson, a 6-2, 290-pound defensive tackle, produced 75 tackles on the front line, including 15 tackles for loss. He also had two sacks, six QB hurries, two forced fumbles and one blocked kick. Tennyson moved his career TFL count to 24, second on the school’s all-time list, behind only the 27 by Christian McDonald in 2003-04.

                Harris, a 5-11, 165-pound defensive back, totaled 28 tackles with three TFLs, five interceptions, eight PBUs and a blocked kick. He also caught eight passes for 171 yards and two touchdowns as well as producing a 15.3-yard average on six punt returns.

                Earlier, all four players were selected first-team all-Conference Indiana. They were joined by senior defensive back-return man Harley Huser, quarterback Triston Perry and kicker-punter Mark Salle-Tabor as first-team selections. In addition, junior Jaylen Flemmons, senior Daniel Hill, senior Tucker Payne and senior Spencer West were cited as honorable mention all-CI picks.

                The complete IFCA Top 50 (all classes) and the IFCA 6A all-state teams are listed below.


WR – Mac Hippenhammer, Fort Wayne Snider, Sr.

WR – Jalen Walker, Carmel, Sr.

WR – Luke Sanders, Cathedral, Sr.

WR – David Bell, Warren Central, So.

TE – Peyton Hendershot, Tri-West, Sr.

TE – Kurt Rafdal, Carmel, Sr.

OL – Harry Crider, Columbus East, Sr.

OL – Zenden Dellinger, Fort Wayne Snider, Sr.

OL – Mark Stickford, Carmel, Sr.

OL – Caleb Jones, Lawrence North, Sr.

OL – Emil Ekiyor, Cathedral, Jr.

OL – Bryce Bailey, Castle, Sr.

OL – Clay Hadley, Center Grove, Sr.

OL – Ben Walesky, Roncalli, Sr.

OL – David Redding, Columbus North, Sr.

OL – Sam Garvin, Hamilton Southeastern, Sr.

QB – Hunter Johnson, Brownsburg, Sr.

QB – Peter Morrison, Fort Wayne Concordia, Sr.

QB – Reese Taylor, Ben Davis, Jr.

RB – Russ Yeast, Center Grove, Sr.

RB – Aryuan Cain-Veasey, Michigan City, Sr.

RB – Avery Hall, Cardinal Ritter, Sr.

RB – Al McKellar, Lawrence North, Sr.

K – Will Harrison, Westfield, Sr.


DL – Leshawn Minor, Ben Davis, Sr.

DL – John Ragan, Eastbrook, Sr.

DL – Ryder Emberton, Whiteland, Sr.

DL – Brandon Schoeneman, Adams Central, Sr.

DL – Dan Root, Center Grove, Sr.

DL – Parker Ferguson, Center Grove, Sr.

DL – Tyler Selm, Franklin County, Sr.

DL – Lawrence Johnson, Fort Wayne Snider, Jr

LB – Pete Werner, Cathedral, Sr.

LB – Tommy Richardson, Bloomington South, Sr.

LB – Alexander Horvath, Mishawaka Marian, Sr.

LB – Nick Ray, Hobart, Sr.

LB – Ben Gruver, Noblesville, Sr.

LB – Johnny May, Hamilton Southeastern, Jr.

LB – Alex Patch, Perry Meridian, Sr.

LB – Bailey Bennett, Center Grove, Sr.

DB – Ben Stewart, Cathedral, Sr.

DB – Bryant Fitzgerald, Avon, Sr.

DB – Paul Maola, Penn, Jr.

DB – Tyler Meurer, Linton-Stockton, Sr.

DB – R.J. Potts, Fishers, Sr.

DB – Cedric Mitchell, Concord, Sr.

DB – Jordan Jusevitch, Lowell, Jr.

DB – Dijon Anderson, Warren Central, Sr.

DB – Sterling Weatherford, Hamilton Heights, Sr.

P – Chase Andries, Beech Grove, Sr.


OL – Drew Hartmann, Noblesville, Sr.

OL – Gaven Johnson, Cathedral, Sr.

OL – Nicke Davis, Center Grove, Sr.

OL – Grant Purlee, Homestead, Sr.

OL – Charlie Bernhardt, Fishers, Sr.

OL – Mike Dhuivetter, Penn, Sr.

OL – Nick Johnson, Portage, Sr.

OL – Joseph Rios, Valparaiso, Sr.

TE – Mathew Klink, Hamilton Southeastern, Sr.

TE – Wilson Huber, Franklin Central, Sr.

WR – Blake Evans, Southport, Sr.

WR – Jameson Bisacky, Valparaiso, Sr.

WR – Ethan Merriweather, Carmel, Sr.

WR – Noah Thomas, Ben Davis, Sr.

QB – Adam Mullett, Hamilton Southeastern, Sr.

QB – Zac Summeier, Warren Central, Sr.

RB – Tristan Tonte, Warren Central, Sr.

RB – Mitchell Burton, Columbus North, Sr.

RB – Brendan Long, LaPorte, Sr.

RB – Zach Jones, Valparaiso, Sr.

Ath – Daveon Bell, Lawrence Central, Sr.

K – Andrew Mevis, Warsaw, Sr.


DL – Kendall Kendrick, Franklin Central, Sr.

DL – Coleman Tennyson, Columbus North, Sr.

DL – C.J. Hunt, Ben Davis, Sr.

DL – Esezi Otomewo, Avon, Sr.

DL – Keegan Hurst, Penn, Sr.

DL – Anthony Sams, Merrillville, Sr.

LB – Alec Jessop, Hamilton Southeastern, Sr.

LB – Hunter Hightower, Southport, Sr.

LB – Ben Goins, Ben Davis, Sr.

LB – Damon Wesley, Warren Central, Sr.

LB – Will Vakalahi, Penn, Sr.

LB – Don Schuch, Crown Point, Sr.

DB – Brock Burns, Hamilton Southeastern, Sr.

DB – Logan Bontrager, Center Grove, Sr.

DB – Matt Anderson, Homestead, Sr.

DB – Owen Strieter, LaPorte, Sr.

DB – Zack Stewart, Crown Point, Sr.

DB – Michael Tutsie, Warren Central, Sr.

Ath – McGwire Plummer, Noblesville, Sr.

P – Jack Shannon, Carroll (Fort Wayne), Sr.


OL – Justin Britt, Warren Central, So.

OL – Luke Martin, Fishers, Jr.

OL – Addison Batton, Avon, So.

OL – D.J. Bowles, Avon, So.

OL – Jake Thode, LaPorte, Jr.

TE – Anthony Torres, Penn, Jr.

WR – Daijon Collins, Cathedral, Jr.

WR – Luke Shayotovich, Avon, Jr.

QB – Jake McDonald, Carmel, Jr.

RB – Jalen Brown, Franklin Central, Jr.

RB – Jordan Presley, Homestead, So.

Ath – Ryan Barnes, Noblesville, Jr.


DL – Beau Robbins, Carmel, So.

DL – Cole Williams, Center Grove, Jr.

DL – Willie Ervin, Ben Davis, Jr.

DL – Madison Norris, Hamilton Southeastern, Jr.

LB – Jackson Barrow, Cathedral, Jr.

LB – Jack Van Remortel, Carmel, Jr.

LB – Cameron McGrone, Lawrence Central, Jr.

LB – Caden Wtson, Crown Point, Jr.

DB – J.D. Harris, Columbus North, Jr.

DB – D.J. Johnson, North Central, Jr.

DB – Harry Ochs, North Central, Jr.

DB – Jontae Dobson, Ben Davis, Jr.

Ath – Hugh Davis, Cathedral, Jr.

P – P.J. Buck, Center Grove, So.


Advertisement Advertisement