Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!



7 months ago by Pat McKee

Collier named state's top tight end and IFCA Top 50 All-State; Robbins, Montgomery also named all-state

            Columbus North football players Mitchel Collier, Landon Robbins and J.J. Montgomery each has received major postseason honors.

            Collier has been named the state’s top tight end and one of the state’s Top 50 players regardless of position, school size or a player’s year in school following voting by the Indiana Football Coaches Association. Robbins, a linebacker, was named Class 6A first-team Senior All-State. Montgomery, an offensive lineman, was named Class 6A first-team Junior All-State.

            The top honors went to Collier, who was named the Tight End Position Award winner in conjunction with the Indiana Mr. Football program.

            The 6-2, 220-pound Collier was a key blocker and led the 2019 Bull Dogs in receiving with 34 catches for 383 yards and one touchdown. He also played defensive end, where he totaled 34 tackles with five tackles for loss, one sack, one pass broken up and four quarterback pressures. For his career, Collier totaled 51 receptions for 528 yards and two touchdowns. Defensively, he totaled 134 tackles with 11 TFLs, eight sacks, four PBUs and 10 QB pressures.

            The Central Michigan recruit also was named to the IFCA’s Top 50 All-State Team, the highest level of its multiple all-state teams.

            Robbins was named Class 6A Senior All-State after amassing a team-best 116 tackles, including 73 solo tackles. The 6-0, 220-pound linebacker also totaled nine TFLs, three sacks and one QB pressure. For his career, Robbins totaled 135 solo tackles, 15 shy of making the CN career top-five list in that category.

            Montgomery, a 6-2, 245-pound lineman, was a key blocker for an offense that netted 271.2 yards per game – 186.5 yards rushing and 84.7 yards passing. Montgomery had a similar role as a sophomore, helping the 2018 Bull Dogs total 358.3 yards per game – 175.6 yards rushing and 182.7 yards passing.

            As a winner of a Position Award, Collier is a finalist for the overall Mr. Football honor. Other Position Award winners were North Central wide receiver Richard Hamilton, Fort Wayne Snider offensive lineman Randy Holtz, Western Boone quarterback Spencer Wright, New Palestine running back Charlie Spegal, New Palestine defensive lineman Kyle King, Carmel linebacker Ty Wise, New Palestine defensive back Maxen Hook, Warsaw kicker Harrison Mevis and Floyd Central punter Cole Hussung.

            The Mr. Football program started in 1992 as a singular award. The Position Awards were added to the program in 2000. Columbus North’s Jake Reed was named the Position Award winner at Tight End in 2010. Reed went on to be a four-year player at Indiana University.



Players are Seniors, unless noted otherwise

            Offensive line: Ethan Crowe, Center Grove; Tex Elliot, Cathedral; Blake Fisher, Avon (junior); Josh Fryar, Beech Grove; Gus Hartwig, Zionsville; Randy Holtz, Fort Wayne Snider; Thor Kracht, Carmel; Martes Lewis, Merrillville; Zac Richards, Mooresville (junior); Ben Scott, Valparaiso; Joseph Solomon, Bishop Chatard.

            Tight end: Mitchel Collier, Columbus North; Griffin Little, Homestead.

            Wide receiver: Brayden Evans, Mooresville; Richard Hamilton, North Central; Jeremiah Howard, Merrillville; Preston Terrell, Brownsburg (junior).

            Quarterback: Kyle Adams, West Lafayette; Drew Byerly, Franklin; Chase Ketterer, New Prairie; Donovan McCulley, Lawrence North (junior); Spencer Wright, Western Boone.

            Running back: Mark Brownlee, Elkhart Central; Marcus McFadden, Indianapolis Lutheran; Charlie Spegal, New Palestine; Ty’Shaun Woods, Scecina.

            Defensive line: Cole Brevard, Carmel; Brock Combs, Evansville Memorial; Deontae Craig, Culver Academy; Marques Cross, Warren Central; Caden Curry, Center Grove (sophomore); Nathaniel James, Avon; Cooper Jones, Valparaiso (junior); Kyle King, New Palestine.

            Linebacker: Bobby Babcock, Hobart (junior); Geoffrey Brown, Fishers; Jay Higgins, Brebeuf Jesuit; Ethan Lowry, Heritage Christian; Dominic Padjen, Carmel (junior); Davern Rayner, Lawrence Central; Camden Rogers, Homestead; Ty Wise, Carmel.

            Defensive back: Ryan Brandt, Angola; Daylan Carnell, Ben Davis (junior); Maxen Hook, New Palestine; Shiloh Means, Cathedral; Bailey Parker, East Noble; Kenny Tracy, Decatur Central.

            Kicker: Harrison Mevis, Warsaw.

            Punter: Cole Hussung, Floyd Central.



All Players are Seniors

            Offensive line: Jared Almeida, North Central; Ethan Dye, Fishers; Tyler Graff, Penn; Cameron Knight, Noblesville; Aidan Parker, Westfield; Luke Piper, Center Grove; Griffin Reed, Warsaw; Andrew Zulu, Ben Davis.

            Wide receiver: Dalton Back, Columbus East; Alonzo Derrick, Fort Wayne Snider; Bishop Johnson, Lafayette Jeff; David O’Toole, Crown Point; Deandre Rhodes, Hamilton Southeastern.

            Quarterback: Cole Gilley, Columbus East; Trent Gipson, Ben Davis; Ryan Lezon, Southport.

            Running back: Dylan Downing, Carmel; Alijawon Hassel, Ben Davis; Donovan Marcus, Brownsburg; Marquis Munoz, Lafayette Jeff.

            Defensive line: Gianini Belizaire, Fort Wayne Snider; Evan Lantz, Hamilton Southeastern; Dane Middlebrook, Brownsburg; Malik Temple, Ben Davis; Khris Walton, Merrillville; Ryan Williams, Penn.

            Linebacker: D’Marco Cross, Lafayette Jeff; Brevon Gude, Avon; Eli Patchett, Westfield; Landon Robbins, Columbus North; Grant Russell, North Central; Cade Shupperd, Brownsburg; Nate Talhelm, Franklin Central.

            Defensive back: Jake Archbold, Homestead; Jaylen Dobson, Ben Davis; Isaiah Higgins, Brownsburg; Garrett Sharp, Carmel; Collin Shelton, Fishers; Ben Slatcoff, Chesterton; Randy Wells, Warren Central.

            Kicker: Chris Freeman, Zionsville.

            Punter: Trevor Horton, Carroll (Fort Wayne).



Players are Juniors, unless noted otherwise

            Offensive line: Bronson Kooy, Westfield; J.J. Montgomery, Columbus North; Pete Nygra, Brownsburg; Justin Pickett, Carmel; Jonah VanDer Kamp, Fishers.

            Tight end: Mikal Clarke, Warren Central.

            Wide receiver: Omar Cooper, Lawrence North; Mason Piening, Westfield.

            Quarterback: Luke Goode, Homestead.

            Running back: Colin Price, Zionsville (sophomore); Daniel Weems, Center Grove (sophomore).

            Athlete: Ben Easters, Brownsburg; Maximus Grimes, Lafayette Jeff.

            Defensive line: Austin Booker, Center Grove; Kenneth Grant, Merrillville (sophomore); Larry Harris, Lawrence North; Kyran Montgomery, Pike; Kayden Sowders, Lafayette Jeff.

            Linebacker: Micah Green, North Central; Joshua Jones, Indianapolis Tech; Jalen Morrow, Lafayette Jeff; Luke Palmer, Homestead.

            Defensive back: Aidan Ewers, Franklin Central; Micah Hauser, Westfield; Theran Johnson, North Central.

            Kicker: Austin Watson, Center Grove.


            PHOTO: Columbus North senior Mitchel Collier (white jersey) leaps to make a reception during the fourth quarter of the Bull Dogs’ sectional game at Franklin Central. Collier has been named the 2019 Indiana Position Award winner at Tight End and 2019 Top 50 All-State by the Indiana Football Coaches Association.


Advertisement Advertisement