Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!



6 months ago by Pat McKee

Collier named Class 6A first-team all-state by Associated Press; Robbins, Montgomery chosen 6A honorable mention all-state by AP

                Columbus North senior Mitchel Collier was named Class 6A first-team all-state on Tuesday (Jan. 7) by The Associated Press.

                Collier was selected as the tight end for the team that recognized players from the 32 schools that played Class 6A football.

                In addition, Bull Dogs senior Landon Robbins and junior J. J. Montgomery were chosen Class 6A honorable mention all-state by the AP. Robbins was honored as a linebacker. Montgomery was cited as an offensive lineman.

                The honor teams chosen by the AP are selected without regard to a player’s year in school.

                The 6-2, 220-pound Collier was a key blocker and led the 2019 Bull Dogs in receiving with 34 catches for 383 yards and one touchdown. He also played defensive end, where he totaled 34 tackles with five tackles for loss, one sack, one pass broken up and four quarterback pressures. For his career, Collier totaled 51 receptions for 528 yards and two touchdowns. Defensively, he totaled 134 tackles with 11 TFLs, eight sacks, four PBUs and 10 QB pressures.

                Last month, the Central Michigan recruit also was named the state’s top Tight End in the Position Awards that are presented as part of the Mr. Football program.

                Robbins was recognized after amassing a team-best 116 tackles, including 73 solo tackles. The 6-0, 220-pound linebacker also totaled nine TFLs, three sacks and one QB pressure. For his career, the Valparaiso University-bound athlete totaled 135 solo tackles, 15 shy of making the CN career top-five list in that category.

                Montgomery, a 6-2, 245-pound lineman, was a key blocker for an offense that netted 271.2 yards per game – 186.5 yards rushing and 84.7 yards passing. Montgomery had a similar role as a sophomore, helping the 2018 Bull Dogs total 358.3 yards per game – 175.6 yards rushing and 182.7 yards passing.

                All three players also received all-state honors in December from the Indiana Football Coaches Association. Collier was picked to the IFCA Top 50 All-State Team. Robbins was named IFCA Class 6A Senior All-State. Montgomery was chosen IFCA Class 6A Junior All-State.

                The full Class 6A all-state team as chosen by the AP is listed below.



                Offense: QB, Donaven McCulley, 6-5, 195, Jr., Lawrence North; RB, Alijawon Hassel, 5-7, 175, Sr., Ben Davis; RB, Donny Marcus, 6-0, 190, Sr., Brownsburg; WR, Preston Terrell, 6-4, 200, Jr., Brownsburg; WR, Richard Hamilton, 6-2, 172, Sr., North Central; TE, Mitchel Collier, 6-2, 220, Sr., Columbus North; OL, Blake Fisher, 6-6, 340, Jr., Avon; OL, Ethan Crowe, 6-5, 305, Sr., Center Grove; OL, Martes Lewis, 6-7, 330, Sr., Merrillville; OL, Randy Holtz, 6-7, 345, Sr., Fort Wayne Snider; OL, Gus Hartwig, 6-5, 305, Sr., Zionsville; K, Harrison Mevis, 6-1, 225, Sr., Warsaw; All-purpose, Jeremiah Howard, 5-11, 175, Sr., Merrillville.

                Defense: DL, Cole Brevard, 6-3, 300, Sr., Carmel; DL, Nathaniel James, 6-1, 250, Sr., Avon; DL, Caden Curry, 6-4, 225, So., Center Grove; DL, Marquies Cross, 6-2, 235, Sr., Warren Central; LB, Ty Wise, 6-2, 220, Sr., Carmel; LB, Geoffrey Brown, 6-2, 220, Sr., Fishers; LB, Daveren Rayner, 6-3, 190, Sr., Lawrence Central; LB, Camden Rogers, 6-1, 205, Sr., Homestead; DB, Daylan Carnell, 6-3, 195, Jr., Ben Davis; DB, Randy Wells, 5-11, 190, Sr., Warren Central; DB, Garrett Sharp, 6-1, 200, Sr., Carmel; P, Trevor Horton, 6-2, 190, Senior, Carroll (Fort Wayne).



                QB – Trent Gipson, Ben Davis; Henry Hesson, Avon; Andrew Hobson, Hamilton Southeastern; Ryan Lezon, Southport; Cole Gilley, Columbus East; Luke Goode, Homestead; Maximus Grimes, Lafayette Jef; Ben Easters, Brownsburg.

                RB – Dylan Downing, Carmel; Bishr Jones, Lawrence North; Marquis Munoz, Lafayette Jeff; Colin Price, Zionsville; Aiden Warren, Perry Meridian; Daniel Weems, Center Grove.

                WR – DeAndre Rhodes, Hamilton Southeastern; Bishop Johnson, Lafayette Jeff; David O’Toole, Crown Point; Dalton Back, Columbus East; Alonzo Derrick, Fort Wayne Snider; Omar Cooper, Lawrence North; Mason Piening, Westfield; Brevin Jefferson, Southport; Layton Mitchell, Carroll (Fort Wayne); Jake Warren, Chesterton.

                TE – Griffin Little, Homestead; Mikal Clarke, Warren Central.

                OL – Thor Kracht, Carmel; Tyler Graff, Penn; Zndrew Zulu, Ben Davis; Luke Piper, Center Grove; Ethan Dye, Fishers; Cameron Knight, Noblesville; Aidan Parker, Westfield; Jared Almeida, North Central; Griffin Reed, Warsaw; Pete Nygra, Brownsburg; Justin Pickett, Carmel; Bronson Kooy, Westfield; Jonah VanDerKamp, Fishers; J.J. Montgomery, Columbus North.

                K – Chris Freeman, Zionsville; Austin Watson, Center Grove.

                DL – Ryan Williams, Penn; Khris Walton, Merrillville; Evan Lantz, Hamilton Southeastern; Malik Temple, Ben Davis; Dane Middlebrook, Brownsburg; Gianini Belizaire, Fort Wayne Snider; Larry Harris, Lawrence North; Kyran Montgomery, Pike; Austin Booker, Center Grove; Kayden Sowders, Lafayette Jeff; Kenneth Grant, Merrillville.

                LB – Dominic Padjen, Carmel; Eli Patchett, Westfield; Nate Talhelm, Franklin Central; D’Marco Cross, Lafayette Jeff; Brevon Gude, Avon; Grant Russell, North Central; Cade Shupperd, Brownsburg; Landon Robbins, Columbus North; Jalen Monrow, Lafayette Jeff; Micah Green, North Central; Luke Palmer, Homestead; Joshua Jones, Indianapolis Tech.

                DB – Isaiah Higgins, Brownsburg; Ben Slatcoff, Chesterton; Jaylen Dobson, Ben Davis; Collin Shelton, Fishers; Jake Archbold, Homestead; Aidan Ewers, Franklin Central; Theran Johnson Jr., North Central; Micah Hauser, Westfield; Dajon Hare, Lawrence Central.


Advertisement Advertisement