Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!



2 years ago by Pat McKee

Smith captures sectional wrestling title at 113 pounds; six Bull Dogs qualify for regional as CN places fifth in sectional

                NORTH VERNON, Ind. – Senior Morgan Smith claimed the championship of the 113-pound weight class Saturday (Jan. 26), leading Columbus North wrestling to fifth place as a team in the Jennings County Sectional.

                Smith was one of six Bull Dogs to qualify for the Jeffersonville Regional by placing in the top four of the sectional competition. Smith will be joined in the regional by freshman Joshua Nelson at 106 pounds, junior Keandre Watson at 145 pounds, freshman Jared Slocum at 160 pounds, junior Nick Holt at 170 pounds and senior Bradley Gutierrez at 285 pounds. The latter five each placed third in the sectional in their weight class.

                Columbus East, with champions in 10 of 14 divisions, captured the team title with 324 points. Seymour was second with 183 points followed by Jennings County with 161.5, Southwestern (Hanover) with 123.5 and Columbus North with 119.5.

                Madison was sixth with 105 pounds with Brown County (87.5), West Washington (47), Scottsburg (39) and Switzerland County (33) rounding out the 10-school sectional field.

                Smith went 3-0 for the day and moved to 23-5 for the season to claim the crown at 113 pounds. After a first-round bye, he won a quarterfinal match by forfeit. He took a 17-1 technical fall over Brown County’s Brandon Leslie in the semifinal round, then edged Columbus East’s Kenton Wilson 8-6 for the title.

                Nelson went 3-1 for the day to move to 12-6 for the season. Watson went 3-1 for the day to move to 7-2 for the season. Slocum went 3-1 for the day to move to 9-13 for the season. Holt went 3-1 for the day to move to 13-12 for the season. Gutierrez went 3-1 for the day to move to 15-6 for the season.

                Columbus North had three other wrestlers post top-six finishes. Senior Dallin Anderson placed fifth at 152 pounds, while freshman Bryce Abner was sixth at 138 pounds and junior Adam Behling finished sixth at 220 pounds.

                Anderson went 2-2 for the day to complete his season at 14-14. Abner went 1-3 for the day to finish his season at 10-17. Behling went 1-3 for the day to finish his season at 12-14.

                Others competing for CN in the sectional were freshman Dylan Chavez, 1-2 at 120 pound to finish his season at 4-22; sophomore Ashton Clark, 1-2 at 126 pounds to finish his season at 5-30; and sophomore Keegan Hill, 1-2 at 182 pounds to finish his season at 7-12.

                The Bull Dogs had no sectional entries at 132 pounds and 195 pounds.

                Action is set to begin at 10 a.m. next Saturday (Feb. 2) in the Jeffersonville Regional.




                Team scores: Columbus East 324, Seymour 183, Jennings County 161.5, Southwestern (Hanover) 123.5, Columbus North 119.5, Madison 105, Brown County 87.5, West Washington 47, Scottsburg 39, Switzerland County 33.


Individual Results

                106: Joshua Nelson (CN), first-round bye; Nelson (CN) pinned Edward Ramirez (Seymour), 3:24; Noah Lykins (CE) maj. dec. Nelson (CN) 10-2;Nelson (CN) pinned Kelsey Bilz (Madison), 4:46;  Nelson (CN) pinned Travis Waltermire (Jennings County), 027, third place. Championship: Lykins (CE) pinned Jayden Criswell (Scottsburg), 3:37.

                113: Morgan Smith (CN), first-round bye; Smith (CN) wins by forfeit over Switzerland County; Smith (CN) tech fall Brandon Leslie (Brown County) 17-1. Championship: Smith (CN) dec. Kenton Wilson (CE) 8-6.

                120: Dylan Chavez (CN) wins by forfeit over Scottsburg; Nathaniel John (CE) pinned Chavez (CN), 1:01; Ty Woods (Seymour) pinned Chavez (CN), 0:30. Championship: John (CE) pinned Cameron Canada (Southwestern-Hanover), 1:23.

                126: Ashton Clark (CN) wins by forfeit over Scottsburg; David Tucker (Brown County) pinned A. Clark (CN), 0:33; Dathan Malone (Jennings County) def. A. Clark (CN), injury default. Championship: Jeremy Clark (CE) dec. Tucker (Brown County) 4-2.

                132: no entry for Columbus North. Championship: Joey Gordon (CE) tech fall Bryce Denton (Brown County) 15-0.

                138: Bryce Abner (CN), first-round bye; Colt Hensley (Seymour) dec. Abner (CN) 7-0; Abner (CN) pinned Shevan Griffith (West Washington), 3:28; Joey Moran (Jennings County) maj. dec. Abner (CN) 11-2; Brandon Smith (Southwestern-Hanover) def. Abner (CN), injury default, fifth place. Championship: Cayden Rooks (CE) pinned Hensley (Seymour), 0:54.

                145: Keandre Watson (CN) first-round bye; Luke McCarty (Madison) pinned Watson (CN), 5:03; Watson (CN) maj. dec. Avery Lytle (Scottsburg) 12-0; Watson (CN) dec. Jake Kriete (Seymour) 5-3 SV; Watson (CN) maj. dec. Luke McCarty (Madison) 9-1, third place. Championship: Kade Law (CE) maj. dec. Adam Anderson (Southwestern-Hanover) 10-1.

                152: Dallin Anderson (CN), first-round bye; Rusty Vaughn (Jennings County) pinned Anderson (CN), 1:58; Anderson (CN) pinned Josh Parry (Brown County), 2:19; Dominic Klem (Switzerland County) dec. Anderson (CN) 5-4; Anderson (CN) dec. Ethan Hawkins (Seymour) 4-1, fifth place. Championship: Jake Schoenegge (CE) pinned Mitchell Cline (Southwestern-Hanover), 2:40.

                160: Jared Slocum (CN), first-round bye; Slocum (CN) maj. dec. Brady McLain (Southwestern-Hanover) 15-4; Sam Morrill (CE) maj. dec. Slocum (CN) 14-2; Slocum (CN) pinned Reid Davis (Brown County), 1:36; Slocum (CN) dec. McLain (Southwestern-Hanover) 8-6, third place. Championship: Jake Rotert (Seymour) dec. Morrill (CE) 2-1.

                170: Nick Holt (CN), first-round bye; Holt (CN) dec. Christian Fouts (Brown County) 11-5; Nick South (CE) pinned Holt (CN), 0:46; Holt (CN) pinned John Vincent (Scottsburg), 1:30; Holt (CN) dec. Fouts (Brown County) 6-2, third place. Championship: South (CE) pinned Sam Bennett (Jennings County), 0:42.

                182: Keegan Hill (CN) wins by forfeit over West Washington; Cameron Woodard (Jennings County) pinned Hill (CN), 0:35; Jason Stratton (Brown County) pinned Hill (CN), 2:32. Championship: Noah White (CE) dec. Woodard (Jennings County) 3-2.

                195: no entry for Columbus North. Championship: Alejandro Sachinas (Seymour) pinned Logan Askew (Jennings County), 3:52.

                220: Adam Behling (CN), first-round bye; Tucker Adams (Madison) pinned Behling (CN) 1:24; Behling (CN) pinned Alec Boggs (Switzerland County), 0:18; Brody Shipley (Seymour) dec. Behling (CN) 5-1; Mitchell Luke (Jennings County) pinned Behling (CN), 1:27. Championship: Jacob Bolte (CE) dec. Caleb Murphy (West Washington), 0:42.

                285: Bradley Gutierrez (CN), first-round bye; Gutierrez (CN) wins by forfeit over Brown County; Shawn Tyler (CE) dec. Gutierrez (CN) 3-1; Gutierrez (CN) pinned Blake Mitchell (Jennings County), 2:42; Gutierrez (CN) dec. Dylan Fulton (Madison) 6-1. Championship: Gabe Ramirez (Seymour) dec. Tyler (CE) 8-4.


Advertisement Advertisement