Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won and home of 18 ihsaa mental attitude award winners!



4 years ago by Pat McKee

CN's Trinkle chosen Class 4A first-team all-state in baseball

                Columbus North junior Cooper Trinkle has been named Class 4A first-team all-state in baseball by the Indiana High School Baseball Coaches Association.

                Trinkle hit .416 with six doubles, two triples, a team-high six home runs and shared the team lead with 27 RBIs in helping the Bull Dogs to a 17-11 record. He has committed to play baseball beginning in 2018 at the University of Evansville.

                Also, CN senior Brice McDaniel was chosen first-team Academic All-State. McDaniel, a Purdue signee, hit .329 with five doubles, two home runs and 22 RBIs.

                Earlier, Trinkle was named honorable mention all-Conference Indiana. McDaniel earlier was selected first-team all-Conference Indiana and first-team IHSBCA all-District.

                Trinkle becomes the Bull Dogs’ seventh all-state honoree over the past five seasons. In 2015, Devin Mann was named first-team all-state and McDaniel was honorable mention all-state. In 2014, Mann was chosen honorable mention all-state. In 2013, Daniel Ayers was selected first-team all-state and Mann was recognized as honorable mention all-state. In 2012, Ayers was selected honorable mention all-state.

                In addition to players chosen to the all-state teams by class, the following five players are designated first-team all-state because they were chosen in the 2016 Major League Baseball Draft – T.J. Collett of Terre Haute North, Skylar Szynski of Penn, Jackson Pokorney of Evansville Mater Dei, Jaxon Shirley of Lapel and Zach Thompson of Wapahani.

                The 2016 Class 4A all-state baseball team follows.

                First team – C, Duncan Hewitt, Lawrence North; 1B, Nick Wright, Bloomington South; 2B, Takahiro Yamada, Columbus East; 3B, Grant Ellis, Terre Haute South; SS, Cooper Trinkle, Columbus North; OF, Mitchell Garrity, Perry Meridian; OF, Niko Kavadas, Penn; OF, Nick Schnell, Roncalli; P, Nick Prather, Zionsville; P, Jacob Cantleberry, Center Grove; draftee, T.J. Collett, Terre Haute North; draftee, Skylar Szynski, Penn.

                Second team – C, Hayden Jones, Carroll (Fort Wayne); 1B, Rhett Wintner, Carmel; 2B, Matt Gorski, Hamilton Southeastern; 3B, Zach Turnbough, Lake Central; SS, Carter Bridge, Harrison (West Lafayette); OF, Drew Campbell, Jeffersonville; OF, Jacob Dickson, Portage; OF, Jacob Hurtubie, Zionsville; P, Connor Manous, Munster; P, Michael McAvene, Roncalli.

                Honorable mention – Milo Beam, Westfield; Jackson Blevins, Plainfield; Luke Budzielek, Hobart; John Cheatwood, Richmond; Will Conway, Cathedral; Jordan Cozart, Evansville Central; Logan Green, Huntington North; Jeremy Griggs, Lafayette Jeff; Conner Hasecuster, Shelbyville; Justin Jenkins, Terre Haute South; Alan Lozer, North Central; A.J. Nixon, New Albany; Justin Reed, Lawrence North; Brady Sheehan, Homestead; Mike Snyder, Fort Wayne Northrop; Hunter Thorn, Portage; Travis Upp, LaPorte; Reid Werner, Greenwood.


                The 2016 IHSBCA Academic All-State team – Tanner Alley, Oldenburg Academy; Evan Anderson, Bloomington North; Matthew Anderson, North Central; Spencer Andrews, Twin Lakes; Nicholas Andrie, Columbus East; Dustin Baird, Perry Meridian; Nick Bantz, Delta; Cole Barnett, Castle; Drew Bertram, Zionsville; Jackson Blevins, Plainfield; Nick Bolander, Brebeuf Jesuit; Neil Brown, Noblesville; Luke Buehler, Guerin Catholic; Thomas Cagnassola, North Central; Baze Conway, New Castle; Cory Conway, Noblesville; Aaron Cox, Southmont; Noah Davis, Andrean; Jaxon Denu, Northeast Dubois; Owen Doster, New Haven; Erik Drehs, Cathedral; Matthias Ebeyer, Whiteland; Jack Eggleton, Brebeuf Jesuit; Leopold Enneking, Batesville; Michael Folta, Fishers; Noah Freimuth, Fort Wayne Dwenger; Justin Garcia, Batesville; Colten Garland, Washington; Mitchell Garrity, Perry Meridian; Ian Gifford, Lake Central; Brian Goldner, Bishop Chatard; Jalon Graber, Barr-Reeve; Holden Graham, Brebeuf Jesuit; Logan Green, Huntington North; Andrew Griffin, Avon; Brock Grinstead, Heritage Christian; Brian Gudeman, Center Grove; Will Harris, Northwestern; Jakob Hayes, Northfield; John Healy, Valparaiso; George Henss, North Central; Michael Hogan, Brebeuf Jesuit; Benjamin Hudson, Lebanon; Jacob Hurtubise, Zionsville; Spencer Irick, Hamilton Southeastern; Drew Jacob, Northeast Dubois; Logan James, Barr-Reeve; Abe Kiesel, Gibson Southern; Jon Kilpinen, Valparaiso; Ben Klemsz, University; John Langmaid, Fort Wayne Canterbury; Tyler Lawson, Brownstown Central; Joseph Leone, Bishop Chatard; Zach Loy, Frontier; Alan Lozer, North Central; Joseph Lybik, Park Tudor; Ryan Mannell, South Bend St. Joseph; Brice McDaniel, Columbus North; James Meyer, Zionsville; Steven Meyer, Lake Central; Christopher Miller, Jay County; David Miller, Frankfort; Joel Miller, Bethany Christian; Conner Mullin, Cathedral; Tyler Mundell, Greenfield-Central; Sean Murphy, Scecina; Tyler Nugen, Lawrence North; Colin Oberthur, Park Tudor; Joe O’Neil, Brebeuf Jesuit; James Paetkau, Goshen; Grant Pemberton, Tecumseh; Evan Persons, Perry Meridian; Ethan Reeves, Riverton Parke; Alex Reinhardt, Bethany Christian; Nick Ricci, Crown Point; Drake Richter, Northfield; Benjamin Robison, Whiteland; Matthew Roop, Harrison (West Lafayette); Jarrett Rozzi, Indian Creek; Turner Ryan, Whiteland; Luke Schneider, Penn; Jared Schoen, Hauser; Jacob Schult, Trinity Lutheran; Jake Scott, Brebeuf Jesuit; Adam Shuder, North Central; Julian Simac, Noblesville; William Smithey, Center Grove; Patrick Sowinski, Bishop Chatard; Grant Spicer, Cathedral; Joe Staud, South Bend St. Joseph; Brandon Stesiak, Penn; Luke Sturtz, Churubusco; Levi Thomas, Lewis Cass; Peter Treesh, Bishop Chatard; Joshua Vaughn, Jay County; Brandon Vermillion, Daleville; Zach Warner, Homestead; Lake Webb, Heritage Christian; Daniel Wendrick, River Forest; Nick Willoughby, LaPorte; Jack Wokewuczki, Fort Wayne Canterbury; Trevor Yoder, Barr-Reeve.


Advertisement Advertisement