Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!



2 years ago by Pat McKee

McQueen, Fry chosen most valuable athletes for 2015-16 Columbus North swimming teams

                Senior Chase McQueen and Mackenzie Fry each collected MVP honors at the Columbus North swimming team banquet on Thursday evening (March 10).

                McQueen was honored for the boys’ team, while Fry was cited for the girls’ team in the gathering for the 2015-16 squad that was held in the Columbus North cafeteria.

                McQueen placed 11th in the 200-yard individual medley at the IHSAA State Finals last month in a time of 1 minute, 54.28 seconds as the Bull Frogs tied for 18th place as a team with 34 points. He also placed 18th at state in the 100 free in 47.57 and helped two CN relays to ninth- and 14th-place finishes.

                The senior swimmer teamed with sophomore Adam Zhuang, junior Angel Torres Martinez and senior Jared Imlay to finish ninth in the 200 free relay in 1:27.14. McQueen plus Torres Martinez, Zhuang and Imlay combined to finish 14th in the 400 free relay in 3:13.07.

                Fry was 23rd in the 100 butterfly in a season-best 58.21 in the girls’ State Finals earlier in February. She also helped the 200 medley relay to a 22nd-place finish, joining junior Alexandra Nusawardhana, senior Cori Taylor and junior Darby Coles for a time of 1:51.94.

                Most Improved awards went to junior Jackson Nagel and freshman Rachel Gutman.

                Freshman Jared Carroll and sophomore Pavithra Venkataraman were respective boys’ and girls’ Bull Frog Award winners.

                Forty-four athletes were awarded varsity letters. That total included 27 boys and 17 girls:

                Boys – seniors Craig Athaide, Johnny Hodson, Jared Imlay, Chase McQueen and Ben Thompson; juniors Lorenzo Acquati, Paco Cena Zavala, Harrison Griffin, Kaemon Jiles, Jackson Nagel, Jackson Swain, Angel Torres Martinez and Adam Zhuang; sophomores Charlie Allen, Grant Fehribach, Thomas Goble, Nicholas Jones, Michael Lee, Lizhi Qin, Ab Schumaker III, Blake Shaffer, Drew Thompson and Albert Zhang; and freshmen Jared Carroll, Solomon Gearheart, Paxton Rush and Sam Russell.

                Girls – seniors Delaney Coles, Betsy Force, Margy Force, Mackenzie Fry, Rachel Lovins and Cori Taylor; juniors Darby Coles, Jennifer Gutman, Alyssa Lackey, Maddy Neal, Alexandra Nusawardhana, Sarah Towsley and Emma Wilson; sophomores Lauren Mackey, Kaitlyn Niebrugge and Pavithra Venkataraman; and freshman Rachel Gutman.

                In addition, freshman Caitlin Ward was presented a varsity letter as a manager.

                Others in the program were seniors Jacob Landini and Ben Verbanic, juniors Ray Ehara and Cameron Phillips, sophomores Floyd Athaide and Tejas Kandharker, and freshmen Yash Kesti, Abbey Landini, Hannah Manlief, Rishi Poldasu and Madison Sandlin.

                The boys’ State Finals meet concluded the one-year tenure for CN coach Bridger Bell, who resigned to accept a position in California.


Advertisement Advertisement