Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!



1 year ago by Pat McKee

Russell, Coles chosen most valuable athletes for 2016-17 Columbus North swimming teams

               Sophomore Sam Russell and senior Darby Coles each collected MVP honors at the Columbus North swimming team banquet on Wednesday evening (March 8).

               Russell was honored for the boys’ team, while Coles was cited for the girls’ team in the gathering for the 2016-17 squad that was held in the Columbus North large-group instruction room.

                Russell placed 24th in the 200-yard individual medley at the IHSAA State Finals last month in a time of 1 minute, 57.71 seconds. He also helped the 200 free relay to a 20th-place state meet finish in 1:38.83 and the 400 free relay to a 20th-place state meet finish in 3:15.19.

                Russell teamed with sophomore Jared Carroll, senior Adam Zhuang and junior Thomas Goble on the 200 free relay. Russell combined with freshman Evan Patterson, Carroll and senior Angel Torres Martinez on the 400 free relay.

                Coles was 17th in the 100 free in the girls state meet in 52.40, and she also was 21st at state in the 50 free in 24.10. In addition, Coles teamed with senior Alexandra Nusawardhana, freshman Olivia Morlok and freshman Betsy King to place 11th at state in the 400 free relay in 3:32.37. Also, Coles plus Nusawardhana, King and Morlok finished 19th at state in the 200 free relay in 1:38.79 for first-year Bull Frogs coach Logan Schaefer.

               Most Improved awards went to senior Jackson Nagel and senior Allison Collins. Nagel was eighth in the 50 free in 23.32 and eighth in the 100 free in 51.68 in the boys’ sectional.  Collins was 11th in the 100 free in 59.20 and 11th in the 100 breaststroke in 1:18.68 in the girls’ sectional.

                Sophomores Paxton Rush and Grace Schuette were respective boys’ and girls’ Bull Frog Award winners.

                Thirty-eight athletes were awarded varsity letters. That total included 21 boys and 17 girls:

                Boys – seniors Paco Cena Zavala, Arturo Contreras, Kaemon Jiles, Jackson Nagel, Jackson Swain, Angel Torres Martinez and Adam Zhuang; juniors Charlie Allen, Grant Fehribach, Thomas Goble, Tejas Kandharkar, Lizhi Qin, Drew Thompson and Albert Zhang; sophomores Jared Carroll, Sam Russell and Paxton Rush; and freshmen Nick Green, Ayush Panda, Evan Patterson and Carlos Torres Martinez.

                Girls – seniors Darby Coles, Allison Collins, Alexandra Nusawardhana, Sarah Towsley and Emma Wilson; juniors Madison Grimes, Lauren Mackey and Kaitlyn Niebrugge; sophomores Rachel Gutman, Abbey Landini, Madison Sandlin and Grace Schuette; and freshmen Karlie Brown, Betsy King, Olivia Morlok, Erica Samuel and Ana Sofia Zavala.

                In addition, sophomore Kara Broad was awarded a varsity letter as a manager.

                Others in the program were seniors Ray Ehara, Troy Gayman, Harrison Griffin, Jennifer Gutman and Andrew Scott; juniors Floyd Athaide, Nicholas Jones, Gabe Kirsch, Michael Lee, Blake Shaffer, Spencer Sherlock and Morgan Smith; sophomores Jackie Fry, Solomon Gearheart, Hannah Manlief and Rishi Poludasu; and freshmen Valeria Castillo, Ricky Ehara, Kazrin Gambrel, Jose Gamez-Lamadrid, Zuliema Lopez, Sotaro Kaneda, Mason King, Luke Swain and Pranev Venkataraman.


Advertisement Advertisement