Skip Navigation

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!


Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!

Columbus North Athletics

Home of the Bull Dogs - where 37 state championships have been won!



6 months ago by Pat McKee

Tucker Smith, Kylah Lawson cited as most valuable athletes of 2019 Columbus North track teams

                Freshmen Tucker Smith and Kylah Lawson were recognized as most valuable athletes at the end of season gathering for the Columbus North track & field teams on Friday (May 24).

                Smith was honored for the boys’ team, while Lawson was cited for the girls’ team in the event for the 2019 squad that was held at Donner Pool.

                Smith, a state qualifier in the shot put, performed admirably throughout the season in the throwing events. He set a school-record of 58 feet, 2¾ inches in winning the regional, breaking his own record of 57-9 that he had set in winning the sectional. His sectional effort eclipsed the previous record of 57-3 set by Matt Krempel in 2009. Smith also posted a team season best of 141-8 in the discus.

                Lawson captured girls’ top honors after excelling in the 200 meters, long jump, the 4x100 and 4x400 relays in 2019. She posted season bests of 26.75 in the 200 sectional trials and 16-2½ in the sectional and qualified for the regional in both individual events. She also helped both relays qualify for the regional, and they posted respective season-best times of 51.25 in a dual meet against Franklin and 4:18.08 in the sectional.

                Others receiving special awards were seniors Hunter Spalding and Sydney Geckler, winners of the respective boys’ and girls’ Bull Dog Awards.

                Spalding set team season bests in the 200 (22.6) and 400 (51.23), qualifying for the regional in the latter event. He also helped the 4x100 and 4x400 relays to respective bests of 43.63 in the dual against Columbus East and 3:30.46 in the regional. Geckler notched season bests of 5:38.0 in the 1,600 and 11:58.27 in the 3,200. She qualified for the regional in the latter event.

                The Bull Dogs also awarded outstanding participant awards in each class and each gender. Those awards went to seniors John Sluys and Geckler, juniors Ben Malone and Olivia Morlok, sophomore Preston Terrell and Emily Herndon, and freshman Matt Newell and Charly Kleinhenz.

                Sluys ran a season-best 9:19.0 in the 3,200, while Malone had a season-best of 23.00 in the 200 in the sectional and a team season-best of 15.37 in the 110 hurdles in the regional. Malone also contributed to the 4x100 and 4x400 relays. Terrell set a season-best of 6-6 in the high jump while winning the sectional and regional as well as a best of 21-2½ in the long jump. Newell won sectional and regional in the 1,600 with a best of 4:26.43 in the regional; he also helped the 4x800 qualify for state and post a season-best time of 8:03.76 in the sectional.

                Geckler’s best marks are listed above, while Morlok qualified for state in the 3,200 with a best of 11:19.78 in the regional and helped the 4x800 reach the regional with a 9:52.16 winning time in the sectional. Herndon posted season bests of 39-9½ in the shot put and 115-4 in the discus, earning a regional berth in the former event. Kleinhenz tallied a team season best of 4-10 in the high jump.

                Those recognized as team captains were Spalding and seniors Eli Heichelbech and Rishi Poludasu among the boys as well as Herndon, senior Emma Lawson and sophomore Erin Rawlins among the girls.

                Sixty-one athletes were awarded varsity letters – 26 boys and 35 girls.

                Varsity letterwinners for the boys were seniors Eli Heichelbech, Sam Horak, Noah Kestler, Rishi Poludasu, Luke Riley, John Sluys and Hunter Spalding; juniors Nash Johnson, Daveed Jolley, Felix Lawson, Carson Littrell, Ben Malone, and Carson Reedy; sophomores J.J. Montgomery, Collin Pruitt, Austin Pulkowski, David Sandusky, Andy Stohr, Preston Terrell and Jakub Trusina; and freshmen Noah Abfall, Evan Carr, Matthew Hager, Reese Kilbarger-Stumpff, Matt Newell and Tucker Smith.

                Girls awarded varsity letters were seniors Sydney Geckler, Larah Henderson, Tara James, Abbey Landini and Emma Lawson; juniors Kate Falkner, Carley Finke, Sami Heathcote, Kennedy Kerber, Olivia Morlok, Karla Perez, Adrienne Salemme, Lydia Trimpe, Emma Wetherald and Sydney Wheeler; sophomores Ella Anderson, Miley Bailey, Mackenzie Barnett, Emily Herndon, Helena Ho, Sydney Hollars, Ella Meek, Erin Rawlins, Megan Saeger, Shaelynn Scruggs, La’Monica Smith and Aric Tong; and freshmen Sasha Goodlow, Alyssa Green, Abby Jacobi, Andrea Justis, Charly Kleinhenz, Kylah Lawson, Claire Swenson and Grace Whaley.

                Other boys in the program were seniors Kaden Brooks, David Cesareo, Jarrett Embry, Eric Huang and Fernando Perez; juniors Giovani Alejandro and Ryan Spoon; sophomores DeShawn Austin, D’metri Bailey, Nate Brown, Elvin Cesareo, Jackson Davis, Gabriel DeLuca, Ja’Bryceson Ford, Awadhoot Ghatge, Avrin Holt, Matthew Pearson, Lorenz Rosas, Gabe Wills, Alex Wolter and Isaac Woodruff; and freshmen Ryan Clulow, Thomas Hicks, Dominic Hovis, Will Kiel, Aaron Krider, Ethan Lax, Will Littrell, Trey Nebergall, Kaushal Padmanabhan, Charlie Russell, Jaxson Scruggs, Dylan Sluys, Brayden Spalding, Devin Tolliver, Bryant Trinkle, Cole Wheeler and Jack Wright.

                Girls also a part of the program were juniors Molly Dye, Riley Eder, Katie Richards and Sydney Sluys; sophomores Iran Arau, Ana Deaton, Celes Harris, Nela Riddle and Adeline Rush; and freshmen Sarah Bennett, Naomi Gambrel, Carly Harshbarger, Emma Martin, Nicole Meza, Alicia Morales, Kelsey Perea, Jennifer Perez, Katherine Rumsey, Bryleigh Shaffstall and Patricia Warner.


Advertisement Advertisement